Saturday, 29 June 2013

The Silver Chain - Primula Bond


© Bianca


PRIMULA BOND - THE SILVER CHAIN
The Unbreakable Trilogy - Book 1
Release Date - July 4 - 2013
(AVON - Harper Collins, UK)

 ★★ 4,9 of 5 Stars



Bound by passion, she was powerless to resist.

One dark evening in London, photographer Serena Folkes is indulging her impulsive side with a night-time shoot. But someone is watching her – mysterious entrepreneur Gustav Levi. Serena doesn’t know it yet, but this handsome stranger will change her life forever...

Serena is fascinated by Gustav, the enigmatic owner of the Levi Gallery, and she soon feels an irresistible pull of attraction. The interest is mutual, and Gustav promises to launch Serena’s photographic career at his gallery, but only if Serena agrees to become his exclusive companion.

To mark their agreement, Gustav gives Serena a bracelet to wear at all times. Attached to it is a silver chain of which he is the keeper. With the chain Gustav controls Serena physically and symbolically – a sign that she is under his power.

As their passionate relationship intensifies, Gustav’s hold on the silver chain grows stronger. But will Gustav’s dark past tear them apart?

An erotic romance novel perfect for fans of 50 Shades of Grey and Sylvia Day’s Crossfire series. The Silver Chain is the first in the sexy, passionate and addictive Unbreakable Trilogy by Primula Bond.



After reading the blurb I was prepared for Sadie Matthews' Fire After Dark Trilogy meets Vina Jackon's Eighty Days Series. And after reading a few pages I still felt that way. And I mean that in a positive way - I loved those books. But just like with the Eighty Days Series, I'm afraid they are going to put this little round sticker on the cover of The Silver Chain Books saying: For Fans of Fifty Shades & Crossfire.
And that's just wrong! As Admin of a FSOG FanPage on Facebook I know that 95% of all Shadies do unfortunately NOT like the Eighty Days books. A lot more liked the Fire After Dark Series. But those books are just a touch too hard and there's not enough 'Hearts and flowers' for the average FSOG-Fans. So, if I could suggest a sticker for The Silver Chain books, try: For Fans of Fire After Dark & Eighty Days!


Now about the book:

Twenty-year-old Serena Folkes has a life to start living. That's why we start the book with her on a train from her little sea-side town in Devon to London. After her adoptive parents passed away and left her some money she packs up her cameras and pictures to move to the big city, where she plans on handing out her CV to art galleries. She will stay at her cousin Polly's flat. (Polly left to go to work in New York with her new boyfriend Pierre).
On the night of Halloween she's 'secretly' taking pictures children in a little gated park - that's when we meet Gustav Levi. A dark and handsome stranger with a vampirical vibe.

"A modern-day Dracula. A swarthy Edward Cullen."


They're instantly attracted to each other, even though he's almost twice her age. After some intense moments in the cold and dark park they're having a drink at a hotel bar, plus some more intense moments☺ and when she gets called away to a party, she forgets her cameras at the bar. That's how she finds herself in the Levi Building the next morning where she finds out that Gustav owns the whole building, including the gallery on one of the upper floors. 
Because he was curious, he checked out the pictures on her camera, and he's very interested in her work. In exchange for an exhibition of her photographs she will have to sign a contract that says she will be his until all her pictures are sold. He later gives her a silver chain - bracelet, with her name engraved on it,  to bind her to him......

I won't say much more - I don't want to spoil too much - only this:

- she has an ex-boyfriend - Jake
- he has an ex-wife - Margot
- he has a chauffeur, pilot, cook, bodyguard - Dickson
- he has an assistant - Crystal
- her past plays a big part in the book - the 'people' who raised her were horrible, unloving idiots.
- his past, of course, plays an important part too - his wife hurt him really bad.
- her silver 'bracelet' obviously plays a huge part - plus the chain he attaches to it - to keep her close ☺
- no idea for what it's supposed to stand, but his red scarf has lots of appearances in the book ☺
- his brother - the only family he had - is not in the picture anymore - there's a story there ;)
- we're flying to Switzerland - to stay at his chalet for a bit
- there's LOTS of sublte sex - and alone-sex - not much 'real' sex ☻
- there's spanking!
- voyerism plays a big part in the book - Peeping Tomasina!
- there will be Nuns ☺
- there will be a CLIFFHANGER ending!!!! I. DID. NOT. EXPECT. THAT. 

what I say - Bianca:

I really loved the book - it was different - but good different. Compared to other books in the erotic genres, there was a lot of written stuff to read ☺ WORDS - endless lines of words, with no breathing space in between ☺  
There is this huge connection between Serena and Gustav, but it takes them forever to finally get it right. It was a bit too slow for me - especially in the beginning. It felt like the two of them didn't have that much time together in the book. Serena was alone too much, talking to us too often. I can't wait for book 2 - the cliffhanger really left me hanging! I want to know what happens with Serena and Gustav and why and what and everything ☺ NOW, PLEASE!


what I say -Janeane

ARC received from publisher through Netgalley for honest review.

3.5 silver stars

Firstly, please don't promote this as one of those "If you loved Fifty Shade of Grey or The Crossfire series blah blah" book.

Books should not be compared to others, especially to blockbusters like those two series.

I really enjoyed the story in The Silver Chain, even though it did drag along for the first 3/4 of the book. I did comment to a friend who had also read it that "OMG it is sooooooo slow" and she agreed with me.

Gustav meets Serena one cold wintery night, just after moves to London. Sparks fly, and they can't seem to keep away from each other.

He offers her a business proposition with strings (or silver chains) attached.

I do no mind inner dialogue (thank god there was no Inner Goddess here),but boy Serena had a lot of it! I felt myself wishing she would move on!

I did enjoy the side stories of Dickson and Crystal, they tied into the stories quite well. The background with Gustav and Serena's exes was also good in helping us realise why these two work so well together - eventually.

By the time I got to the last 25% of the book, I like that things were moving along a lot quicker.

Oh, and what is the deal with the red scarf? Does it have meaning, or is it just described too much in the book and I noticed it?

Just be aware that there is a cliffhanger at the end - and even though a bit of a tedious read at times, I am looking forward to reading more.

Just please - don't drag things out so much.

► GO BUY THE BOOK ◄


here are the links to the book and to Primula Bond:








 BOOK 2 is expected to be released in NOVEMBER 2013!!!

No comments:

Post a Comment